New barangay chairs in 24 of Malaybalay’s 46 villages; 22 re-elected

MALAYBALAY CITY (Bukidnon News/31 October)  A total of 24 of the city’s 46 barangays will have new barangay chairs effective November 30, 2013, based on final and unofficial list from the Commission on Elections in Malaybalay City.

Cromwell Kiril Dinlayan, incumbent village council man (kagawad) wins as new village chief  of Brgy. 1, Malaybalay City. He is one of 24 new village chiefs of the city| Photo courtesy of Mr. Dinlayan's Facebook Account

Cromwell Kiril Dinlayan, incumbent village council man (kagawad) wins as new village chief of Brgy. 1, Malaybalay City. He is one of 24 new village chiefs of the city| Photo courtesy of Mr. Dinlayan’s Facebook Account

Eleven of these newly-elected officials have defeated the incumbent barangay chairs in their areas and at least eight prevailed over fellow council persons or new challengers as their barangay chair were no longer eligible to run for re-election after having served three-terms already. Some of the incumbent officials did not seek re-election.

The City Comelec’s Office is yet to issue an official copy as of October 30 of the winners in Malaybalay City where a total of 69,305 actually voted on Monday or 79.6 percent of the total 87,061 registered voters.

Among those who won against incumbent barangay chairs are Crispin Pepito of Brgy. 4 who defeated Cleofe Melendez. Pepito ran and lost in the last election for city council.

Certified Public Accountant Rodrigo Niere of Brgy. Kalasungay also defeated incumbent Ernie Paano, who has served in previous terms. Both candidates are members of the Bukidnon tribe in the area.

Incumbent council persons (kagawads) who opposed incumbent barangay chairs were among the barangay chairs including Concepcion Palo of Brgy. 2 who defeated Marbie Binahon, Emilio Cid of Brgy. 11 who will replace Ruben Ravanera, and Helen Agpalo of Brgy. Simaya who defeated Nimfa Bautista.

Incumbent council persons who opposed fellow officials or new challengers to replace third termer barangay chairs include Estela Edma of Bangcud who will replace Rosa Maria Robosa; Cromwell Kiril Dinlayan of Brgy. 1 who will replace Gabriel Alima; and William Pen of Brgy 7 who will replace Alexander Maputi.

But in Brgy. St. Peter incumbent village council man Rubencio Organiza lost to challenger Jaime Sumaylo Sr. Third-termer barangay chair Domingo Hingpit is not eligible to seek re-election.

In Brgy. 3, where another incumbent barangay chair Michael Daniot is not eligible to run for re-election, village council person Lyzander Cedrick D. Maandig prevailed over fellow council person Genie Ybaniez.

In Brgy. Caburacanan, where incumbent barangay chair Renato Sumbongan is also not eligible to seek re-election, Joven Salonga prevailed over two other opponents.

In Brgy. Laguitas along the Sayre Highway outgoing barangay chair Rosanna Linhay will be replaced by Ruben Tero, who prevailed over four other contenders.

In at least two areas, Kulaman and Busdi, both in the city’s Upper Pulangi district, the barangay council is a family matter.

Jenny S. Subang of Kulaman won over Leonardo Timbangan, who came from a family with three members of the incumbent barangay council. Subang, too, came from a family who dominated village politics. She will replace her brother incumbent barangay chair Zalde Singatao. A Singatao, Trixie Gabrielle, is the outgoing Sangguniang Kabataan president.

In Brgy. Busdi, Nestor Dumala, incumbent barangay chair, did not run for re-election to give way to two younger brothers who both aspired to replace him. Bernard Dumala prevailed over older brother Jose, who is a sitting village council person.

Some of the outgoing barangay chairs ran for village council person in this election to stay in position such as Alima and Maputi. Both candidates won.

The list of new barangay chairs also included returning barangay chair like Bebina Ke-e of Brgy. San Jose who defeated incumbent Ramon Jaculbe and Esperanza Martinez of Brgy. Dalwangan who defeated incumbent Rolando Lino-ay. Both women were defeated in previous elections.

Dr. Glorio Sajulga, who served as barangay council member since 2010 has regained hold of his previous seat as barangay chair of Brgy. Aglayan. Sajulga ran and lost for mayor in 2010 and for vice mayor in 2013.

Former Brgy. 10 barangay chair Nilo Q. Salga also defeated incumbent Edgar Evacuado.

Businessmen were also among those who won as new village chiefs like Rodrigo Timones of Brgy. 9 who defeated incumbent village council man Dexter Maxileo Gamo. The incumbent barangay chair, instead run for village council person.

Agri-businessman Rumel Castilla Sr. won over incumbent Brgy. 5 village council person Josefa Tacastacas. The incumbent barangay chair Ernesto Redoble did not seek re-election.

In Brgy. Indalasa, where the incumbent barangay chair Eladio Pancho did not seek for re-election, village council man Romeo Manatad prevailed over a single opponent.

Other incumbent barangay chairs ran against scions of political families like Managok’s Wildrefo Ravidas, who lost to newcomer Aries Vincent Jurolan. Jurolan is son of city councillor Nicholas Jurolan, also former mayor of Malaybalay.

Retired police officer and former village council man Roberto Solito defeated incumbent Sumpong barangay chair Norvie Bayo.

Community worker Vicente Leono of Apo Macote won against incumbent Julie Olili for barangay chair.

Twenty two (22) incumbent barangay chairs managed to get re-elected, including seven who run unopposed.

Association of Barangay Councils federation president Jose Medardo Estaniel won again as barangay chair of Brgy. Sinanglanan, one of the villages in the city’s Basakan district.

Jacinto Tadlas also won another term as barangay chair of Casisang, the city’s biggest barangay in terms of population and land area. (Walter I. Balane/Bukidnon News.Net)