53 of 464 Bukidnon barangays in 2013 polls ‘watch list’

Bukidnon News.Net official Logo for site2MALAYBALAY CITY (Bukidnon News/08 March) Fifty-three of Bukidnon’s 464 barangays have been included in the police’s “potential election watch list areas”, with most of them, or 48, were included because they were identified as ‘rebel affected’ areas, P/Supt. Narciso Domingo, deputy police director for administration said Friday.

The “watch list barangays” belonged to the cities of Malaybalay and Valencia and 10 of Bukidnon’s 20 towns. The list forms part of the basis for deployment of security forces.

The Bukidnon Provincial Police Office (BPPO) announced that a total of 635 police personnel will be deployed on May 13 to secure the province’s 538 polling places.

Domingo, who reported during the Commission on Elections provincial command conference for the May 13, 2013 elections here, cited that Bukidnon has no “election hotspot” area but enumerated the 53-item “watch list.”

The PNP placed 13 of 35 villages in Kitaotao, the town with the most number of villages, in the watch list.

The barangays were identified as Bershiba, Kahusayan, Kiulom, Panganan, Digongan, Kalapaton,  Sagundanon, White Kulaman, Kipilas, Sinuda, Pagan, Sinaysayan, and Metebagao.

San Fernando town came next with nine of its 24 barangays in the watch list namely: barangays Dao, Kibongcog, Little Baguio, Palacpacan, Mabuhay, Cabuling, Durian, San Jose, and Magkalungay.

Dao is home of slain tribal leader Jimmy Liguyon who was then the village chief when shot to death allegedly by a paramilitary group on March 5, 2012.

Quezon town also have six of its 31 barangays in the list; Barangays Sta. Felomina, Linabo, Lipa, Delapa, Kipaypayon, and Sta. Cruz.

In Valencia City, of 31 barangays, included in the list are Barangays Concepcion, Banlag, Laligan, Guinoyuran, Lilingayon, and Lurogan. The last three villages were included due to “presence of criminal gangs,” according to the police report.

Five of Pangantucan town’s 19 villages were also included namely: Barangay Adtuyon, Gandingan, New Eden, Portulin, and Mendis.

The town of Impasug-ong has three villages in the list: Buntongan, Sayawan, and Kalabugao.

Two of Malaybalay’s 46 villages are in the watch list: Dalwangan and Patpat, along the city highway. The municipalities of Cabanglasan (Canangaan and Mandahican), Dangcagan (Bugwak and Kapalaran), Kalilangan (Pamotolon and Malinao), and Kibawe (Magsaysay and Kisawa) each have two villages in the list.

Notably, the two listed out of Kalilangan’s 14 barangays were identified by the police report as “Muslim-dominated areas.”

Barangay Imbayao in Don Carlos town is also included in the list.

Baungon, Damulog, Kadingilan, Lantapan, Libona, Malitbog, Manolo Fortich, Maramag,  Pangantucan, Sumilao, and Talakag towns have no village included in the watch list.

Notably, the New People’s Army (NPA) raided the police station in Malitbog in May 2011 that caused the relief of then Bukidnon police director Senior Supt. Cristito Rey Gonzalodo and Malitbog police chief Inspector Alexander Eugenio for their failure to thwart the attack. It was, however, not an election year.

Police director Orlando Beñas, who signed the report, cited in the “issues and concern” portion that insurgency remained as a pressing concern due to the existence of two resident rebel fronts and two encroaching fronts in the province.(Walter I. Balane/Bukidnon News)

Tags: , , , , ,