3 Bukidnon mayors unopposed

MALAYBALAY CITY  (Bukidnon News/09 October) Three of Bukidnon’s 20 town mayors are running unopposed for the May 2013 elections, according to reports of the Commission on Election offices in Bukidnon’s towns and cities.

Mayors Leonard Genesis T. Calingasan of Libona, Rogelio Quino of Manolo Fortich, and Manolito Garces of Pangantucan, all incumbents, have no opponents next year.

Calingasan is son of Bukidnon Gov. Alex Calingasan, who is sliding down next year to run as running mate of Vice Gov. Jose Ma. R. Zubiri Jr in his bid to take the governor’s seat again.

A total of 17 of the 22 town and city mayors in Bukidnon are seeking a new term next year, including Malaybalay City Mayor Ignacio W. Zubiri and Valencia City Mayor Leandro Jose Catarata.

Zubiri faces a three-cornered fight with Vice Mayor Victor Aldeguer and businessman Estelito Marabe.

Catarata has more opponents, three, including political rival Jose Galario. The two others are women members of the city council, councilors Arlyn Ayon and Cleofe Mabao.

The mayors from the following towns are seeking re-election, too: Baungon, Cabanglasan,  Damulog, Don Carlos , Impasugong, Kadingilan, Kibawe, Lantapan, Maramag, Quezon, Talakag, Sumilao.

In Lantapan town, Fr. Teresito Labastilla, who was reported to have resigned, is challenging incumbent Mayor Godofredo Balansag.

In Quezon town, a member of the Fortich family, Juan Carlos Fortich is running for mayor opposite Mayor Gregorio Gue.

Former Bukidnon Second Electric Cooperative board member Oliver Aldovino has opposed incumbent Impasug-ong mayor Mario Okinlay. The latter’s wife, Julia, former town mayor, is also seeking a seat at the municipal council.

Dangcagan mayor Edilberto Ayuban is swapping with his vice mayor Fruto Dandasan Jr, who in turn will face in the mayoralty race incumbent councilor Roberto Cabunoc, son of the town’s former mayor.

Kitaotao mayor Rodito Rafisura is sliding down to vice mayor to give way to incumbent vice mayor Lorenzo Gawilan Jr. to vie for the seat he relinquished in 2010 after completing three terms.

Kalilangan mayor Nenita Suyao has finished her three terms and is now vying for a seat at the provincial board.

San Fernando Mayor  Laurencia Edma is no longer running. But her husband Levi Sr. is running for mayor against two opponents, one of them Datu Okit Onlas. Onlas was the reported negotiator for the surrender in November 2011 of 80 armed men in San Fernando town led by Benjamin Salusad.

Edma’s namesake son, Levi Jr. is also running for a seat at the eight-seat municipal council. At present, it is a “wife as mayor, husband as vice mayor” in San Fernando town.

Malitbog mayor Aida dela Rosa is no longer seeking reelection but her husband former mayor Osmundo is vying for the seat again. Their daughter Catherine is also running for a seat at the municipal council. (Walter I. Balane/Bukidnon News)