CMU grad tops 2012 agriculturist board

MALAYBALAY CITY  – A graduate from Central Mindanao University’s College of Agriculture topped the July 2012 agriculturist board examinations, according the results released by the Professional Regulations Commission (PRC) .

Carolina D. Amper of Musuan, Maramag, Bukidnon ranked first with a rating of 87.5 percent. Another CMU graduate, Alfritz L. Ceballos placed 9th with a rating of 84.67 percent.

Dr. Ma Luisa Soliven, CMU president, welcomed the feat for CMU.

“We are so happy and proud (CMU is) producing top caliber graduates,” she added.

Just last week, CMU also was in the spotlight when Ma. Juana B. Polinar, a magna cum laude graduate of CMU in April 2012 was awarded as one of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP). Polinar took political science at CMU and is now pursuing her law degree.

Soliven said Amper works as CMU’s university registrar and as one of the teachers in the College of Agriculture.

She attributed the achievements to the university’s commitment to provide “excellent and quality education.”

Soliven said CMU is second to the University of the Philippines Los Baños in number of passers for schools with 100 and above takers since last year.

Another examinee from a Mindanao school, Maria Socorro P. Aratan of Xavier University and Joan P. Sadoral of the University of Southern Mindanao Kabacan ranked 8th. Rowel Calapotoc Bartolome of the University of Southeastern Philippines-Tagum also ranked 9th with a rating of 84.67.

A total of 1,334 out of 3,518 passed the Agriculturist Licensure Examination conducted in the cities of Manila, Baguio, Cagayan de Oro, Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, Legazpi, Lucena, Tacloban, Tuguegarao and Zamboanga from July 29 to 31, 2012.

The rest of the Top 10 ranking examinees:

1.Carolina D Amper,  Central Mindanao University 87.50
2 Haroun Cordova Alcanzare University of the Philippines-Los Baños 86.67
3 Virracel Ornopia Luansing University of the Philippines-Los Baños 86.50
4 Bernadette Tabernilla Baer University of the Philippines-Los Baños 85.67
5 Renesito Magbanua Labnao University of Antique-Hamtic 85.33
6 Julie Ross Malicdem Datuin University of the Philippines-Los Baños 85.17
Charmaine Diwa Espinosa University of the Philippines-Los Baños 85.17
Louterio Allam Sanchez Jr Isabela State University-Cabagan 85.17
7 Marjon Santiago Libong Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University-Bacnotan 85.00
Camilo Brazil Palacol University of the Philippines-Los Baños 85.00
8 Maria Socorro Pausal Aratan Xavier University 84.83
Carlos Paul Cruz Pedracio Central Luzon State University 84.83
Joan Pinoon Sadoral University of Southern Mindanao Kabacan 84.83

Sunshine Hael Singun University of the Philippines-Los Baños 84.83
9 Rowel Calapotoc Bartolome University of Southeastern Philippines-Tagum 84.67
Alfritz Lobetania Ceballos Central Mindanao University 84.67
Virginia Isabelle Gueco Mapa Tarlac College of Agriculture 84.67
10 Christian Peralta Manice Pangasinan State University-Sta. Maria 84.50. (Walter I. Balane/Bukidnon News)