Maramag rules Kaamulan Tribal Olympics 2018

MALAYBALAY CITY (BukidnonNews.Net/16 March 2018) The Municipality of Maramag, one of the towns inhabited by the Manobo tribe in southern Bukidnon has dominated the Kaamulan Tribal Olympics 2018.

Maramag garnered 1,795 points to win as champion.

Kalilangan town, also in the southern part of Bukidnon bagged the second place with 1,405 points. Malaybalay City, the provincial capital, placed third with 1,290 points.

Maramag dominated in Kag Lit-ag, Banlak, Babaha/Tiang, Biak Hu Kayo, Pulagoy-14 years old below male marathon, Pulagoy-14 years old female marathon and Pulagoy-15 years old female marathon.

Kalilangan got the top spot in Bag-id Ha Kag Tubu, Kag Bunlawit, Sagakad -14 years old below – 4 feet, Sagakad -14 years old below – 8 feet, Sagakad -14 years old below – 8 feet, Sagakad -14 years old below – Relay, Sagakad -15 years old below – 8 feet, and Sagakad -15 years old Above – 4 Relay.

Malaybalay has dominated in Sumpit, Dasaya, Pulagoy – 50 meters female Open, Pulagoy – 100 meters Male Open and Pulagoy – 15 above Male Marathon.

Quezon town bagged the first place in Kag- Asud, Galing Ta Bato, Duso and Sagakad -15 years old Above – 4 feet.

Valencia City got the first place in Sagakad – 15 years old above – 6 feet category.

Other participating LGUs were the towns of Baungon, Cabanglasan, Damulog, Dangcagan, Don Carlos, Kitaotao, Kadingilan, Kibawe, Lantapan, Libona, Pangantucan and Sumilao.

Seventeen local government units sent their contingents who were members of the indigenous people’s or indigenous cultural communities from their respective localities.

Participants competed in the 15 events in the three-day event. Of the said events, 13 have single category while six in Pulagoy and eight in Sagakad.

Top three winners have received a plaque of recognition and cash prizes.

Tribal Olympics is one of the major Kaamulan 2018 activities. Just recently, the Capitol has institutionalized the tribal Olympics starting this year.

Kaamulan is the annual gatherings of the seven tribes of Bukidnon namely Bukidnon, Higaonon, Talaandig, Manobo, Matigsalug, Umayamnon ang Tigwahanon. (Mel B. Madera)